Columbus congressman votes against impeaching president

Donald Trump is the first president in history to be impeached twice by the U.S. House.

The final vote was 232-197. Ten Republicans joined Democrats in approving the latest impeachment resolution.

Indiana’s members of Congress split along party lines on President Trump’s second impeachment. Democrats Frank Mrvan and Andre Carson voted for impeachment.

Columbus Congressman Greg Pence joined with the rest of Indiana’s Republican congressional delegation to vote against impeaching President Trump.

In a statement released yesterday afternoon, Pence said that the President made it clear he will support a peaceful transfer of power on January 20th to President-elect Joe Biden. He said “It is time to move on, heal, and put our focus into where it truly helps the American people: recovering from the COVID-19 pandemic and restoring our economy.”